You wouldn’t think to pick Mady Organic for a lunch or a meal. It’s an organic grocer store. Get your chia and liquid aminos and nutritional yeast and local organic greens, sure; but seaweed friend rice, vegetarian dumpling and meat-free laksa? Pleasantly, yes.

I’ve been frequenting Mady’s for a while, but more so in recent years because I just really enjoy the clean food I can get there. Everything in the menu, you can find in the store. You can also take your pick of the organic greens from the fridge and have the kitchen prep it (for a nominal fee).

Mady’s Seaweed Fried Rice

My go-to is the Seaweed Fried Rice. It’s fresh, crisp and with a nice crunch. They use light brown rice. It’s a beautiful balance of gentle savoury and a flavour of the ocean. Perfect with a hint of fresh cut chilli. I have trouble ordering other stuff because this is always perfect for me.

Dumpling Soup

Everything at Mady’s is meat-free, which suits me fine. Mady sells the dumplings in a pack and also has it as a menu item. Personally, I felt the skin was a tad too thick for my palate. As a dish overall, it’s a nice hearty winter comfort. Good for a rainy day. The mushroom, shredded carrot and greens are a good complement. Pretty guilt-free as far as dumplings go.